top of page


vj white wall.JPG
  • Black Spotify Icon
  • Bandcamp
  • Black iTunes Icon
  • Instagram
  • YouTube
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

Vincent John has spent the greater part of the decade creating timeless Soul/R&B recordings for the likes of legendary artists including Lee Fields, Nicole “Lady” Wray (Missy Elliot, Blakroc), El Michels Affair & more. 


While honing his chops as a writer and performer on an array of classic records, John also toured the world as a member of Lee Fields’ renowned band The Expressions, further cementing his status as a multi-instrumental musical force.


In 2016, after relocating from New York City back to his hometown of Philadelphia, Vincent John stepped out on his own to release his debut EP Never Go Back. The record immdediately garnered critical acclaim from a wide range of publications, with the likes of Billboard stating “As guitarist for Lee Fields & the Expressions, John knows a thing or two about soul music. But on ‘Heaven Knows’ he finds his own voice in some of the 1980s most timeless pop and new wave artists with a modern electro pop twist, delivered with a soulful sense of honesty.“

In 2017 John released his second EP, Tangerine, a record which expanded his signature 80s pop/r&b sound with touches of afrobeat (“Foolish Game”), world music (“Tangerine”) and even house (“Fantasy”). Along the way, he has always managed to deftly impart a sense of timeless human emotion to his modernist form of expression, a fact never more apparent than on his latest release, the 4 song Fate EP.


"Temptation" is the final single from the Fate EP. Says Vincent, “People are predisposed to want things we can’t have. It’s human nature. Desire leaves us broken hearted and walking away is easier said than done. 'Temptation' is the story of someone grappling with the chase for something, or someone, that can never be attained”.


In 2021 Vincent released the dance floor burner "After Dark". The song is a hypnotic anthem celebrating the end of a dark year, and the lyrics look forward to brighter, more hopeful days ahead. The song is nostalgic, emotional, and euphoric, and serves as the latest slice of Synth and Soul by VJ. 


bottom of page